Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist Announced

Anne Carson and Anne Michaels have both just been shortlisted for this year’s Griffin Poetry Prize.  Read more at the CBC.

In addition to this, The League of Canadian Poets and Calgary Spoken Word Festival are thrilled to announce the 2014 recipient of the prestigious Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award: bill bissett!  Our own Ian Hogeboom-Burr is taking one of bill bissett’s poems on the road to the Poetry in Voice National Finals next month.


At this time it is appropriate to announce the inaugural ESA Poetry Contest.

In honour of National Poetry Month, the ESA Library is sponsoring a student poetry contest.  Poems must:

  • be titled;
  • not have been previously published;
  • be typed on a blank white 8.5″ x 11″ paper; and,
  • be no longer than 50 lines.

All entries must be submitted by no later than Friday April 25th.  Entries should be submitted to Ms. Wray, in the Library.

The first place winning entry will receive a copy of Anne Carson’s NOX, an epitaph to her brother.