Poetry Month: Poem of the Day

I am history

Futures untold

Beautiful, sassy, intelligent

BOLD

Gold and black diamonds

Shimmer in soul

On whole, greatness stolen

From the mother land

Beaten and broken by my mother’s hand

Understand

My pieces, picked, fixed

To become new, Glorious

VICTORIOUS

Born of great people

Eyes cry blood as I kneel before the steeple

Pain pierces persistently

Healing being blessing

Curses to sky, yet I thank Him

For the testing

BLACK

My skin

No bruise

So real

What I feel

Beats in the heart of a Lion-

Ess, YES!

Evolution at its best

In my hand I hold future

In my hand I hold truth

Keep the teachings of my people

Keep the voices off my youth

She

We

ME

I am

HERstory.

 

I am HERstory
By Augustina Nichol
Grade 10, Kipling C.I.

From the anthology Urban Voices, p. 38

